Who Are We?

The federally designated East Central Vermont Economic Development District (ECVEDD) consists of 40 towns within parts of Addison, Orange, Rutland, and Windsor Counties in Vermont. The towns of East Central Vermont are Andover, Baltimore, Barnard, Bethel, Bradford, Braintree, Bridgewater, Brookfield, Cavendish, Chelsea, Chester, Corinth, Fairlee, Granville, Hancock, Hartford, Hartland, Ludlow, Newbury, Norwich, Pittsfield, Plymouth, Pomfret, Randolph, Reading, Rochester, Royalton, Sharon, Springfield, Stockbridge, Strafford, Thetford, Topsham, Tunbridge, Vershire, Weathersfield, West Fairlee, West Windsor, Windsor, and Woodstock.

Mission and Goals

ECVEDD’s mission is to access and provide resources and to facilitate and support quality decision making for the benefit of entrepreneurs, businesses and communities in East Central Vermont.

Goal 1. To qualify the East Central Vermont Region for federal assistance that is unavailable to areas not organized and recognized as an EDD by the U.S. Economic Development Administration (EDA).

Goal 2. To aggressively seek and secure EDA grants to support the work of the District’s Regional Planning Commissions and Regional Development Corporations, and to support, but not supplant, the economic development duties and responsibilities of these constituent organizations.

Goal 3. To secure financing for the operation of the EDD and conduct operations in the most economically efficient manner possible.


The eligible members of the East Central Vermont Economic Development District (the District) are our 40 towns within Addison, Orange, Rutland, and Windsor Counties as well as the Green Mountain Economic Development Corporation (GMEDC), Mount Ascutney Regional Commission (MARC), Springfield Regional Development Corporation (SRDC), and Two Rivers-Ottauquechee Regional Commission (TRORC).

The 40 towns of East Central Vermont were designated as an Economic Development District in December 2013. This designation allows the region to gain access to Economic Development Administration (EDA) Investment Assistance through a variety of grant opportunities. Any requests for EDA funding must align with the Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy (CEDS). Contact any of the partner organizations for more information: Two Rivers-Ottauquechee Regional Commission, Green Mountain Economic Development Corporation, Mount Ascutney Regional Commission, and Springfield Regional Development Corporation.

ECVEDD Board and Minutes